Do you like to be hugged?As the resident computer geek at The Spark National Office I spend a lot of time online. Some may find the internet a terrifying and dark place, but if you know what you’re doing there are some lighter bits that can be useful and informative.

In one of my recent wanderings of the World Wide Web I stumbled upon a fascinating quiz called The 5 Love Languages. The quiz, created by Dr. Gary Chapmen and based on his book, focuses on finding the language you use to communicate with those you love. Although the website heavily focuses on the relationship between you and your significant other, the same knowledge can easily be applied to all relationships in your life.

Dr Chapman’s theory suggests there are 5 key love languages:

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Acts of Service
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Quality Time
  • Physical Touch

I personally wasn’t surprised by my outcome, but some people may get something they never expected based on how they interact with people on a daily basis. For example, someone who is naturally tactile may not feel that love is communicated this way, therefore rating lower on Physical Touch. Their partner on the other hand may feel the opposite way and score highly on this language.

Knowing which of these languages you communicate with the most could help you understand how to relate to one another. Simply knowing that doing the dishes may mean more to your significant other than buying them an expensive gift could have a huge impact on your life.

Of course I can’t guarantee that this knowledge will work miracles in your life, I’m not a trained counsellor. I leave that to my colleagues here at The Spark. So if you are having trouble in your relationship and would like to speak with a counsellor, get in touch with our Appointments team. You can also call The Relationship Helpline on 0808 802 2088.

Couples And Individuals, Relationships, Topical